Which Sakai Knife Tour? Every Factory, Forge and Workshop Tour Compared
Every Sakai knife tour compared: knife maker or blacksmith walks, private tours, craft-and-tea days, a 3-day trip from Tokyo. From $38 as of October 2026.
The Sakai knife tour to book is Japan Tour Adventure’s 3.5-hour walk from Nankai Sakai Station: from $45 as of October 2026, rated 4.8 from 97 reviews, and the only one that takes you into a working sharpening shop or a forge on a fixed day of the week. Six other Sakai tours run, from a $38 day walk to a $2,441 three-day trip from Tokyo. On none of them do you forge a blade yourself.

Every Sakai knife tour compared
| Tour (operator) | From | Rating (reviews) | Length | The knife stop | Knife to take home |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Knife Maker or Blacksmith Walking Tour (Japan Tour Adventure) | $45 | 4.8 (97) | 3.5 hours | Crafts museum; Yamawaki Hamono Tue and Thu, a blacksmith Wed | No; a custom knife can be ordered |
| Sakai Knives: Private Access Tour (ENA inc.) | $60 | 5.0 (2) | 3 hours, private | Crafts museum; a showroom, forge or knife archive | No; shopping advice |
| Sakai Artisan & Cultural Walking Tour (HopGo) | $38 | No reviews yet | 6.5 to 7 hours | Denshokan and Sakai Knife Museum CUT | None included |
| Sakai Cultural Tour: Crafts, Tea & Incense (Osaka JOINER) | $126 | No reviews yet | 5.5 hours | A knife workshop, factory or blacksmith exhibition | None included |
| Shogun’s Story, Samurai, Knives & Tea Ceremony (ENA inc.) | $379 | 5.0 (2) | 5 hours, private | Sakai Tohji: fit a handle, have the knife engraved | Yes |
| Sakai Knife Experience Private Tour (Kansai Holiday) | $1,230 per group up to 6 | No reviews yet | 10 hours by car | A beginner knife activity, crafts museum | Not stated |
| 3-Day Sakai Knives & Kofun from Tokyo (Yamaguchi Motors) | $2,441 per group up to 6 | No reviews yet | 3 days by van | Museum sharpening demonstration, a workshop with a craftsman | Not stated |
Prices, ratings and review counts as of October 2026; operators change prices, so treat them as the shape of the market, not a quote.
The walk most visitors should book
You meet the guide at Nankai Sakai Station, walk to an old sweet shop where one sweet is included, then spend 30 minutes in the Sakai Traditional Crafts Museum. On Tuesdays and Thursdays the tour goes behind the scenes at Yamawaki Hamono, a Sakai maker and wholesaler founded in 1927 that does its own sharpening. You see raw blades from the smith turned into kitchen knives, practise sharpening, and can order a custom knife and watch it being made. On Wednesdays it visits a blacksmith’s workshop instead, where the smith explains forging in English and French. De Sakai, the forge the tour names, is a family forge that Sakai’s tourism bureau dates back 200 years. No stop is named for other days, so pick a Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday.
Groups top out at 10, guides speak English (French is not guaranteed on a shared tour), and the walk is wheelchair accessible. It needs two guests to run, so a solo booking may be rescheduled or refunded. Bring a passport or ID card.
Factory tour, forge or workshop?
Sakai splits the making of a knife between specialists: the smith who forges it, the sharpener who puts on the edge and the handle maker. A tour shows you one link in that chain.
- Factory tour. The nearest thing is Yamawaki Hamono on the Tuesday and Thursday walk. Osaka JOINER includes a “knife factory visit”, but the stop may be a workshop, factory or blacksmith exhibition depending on availability, and the operator says a day usually fits two to three of its stops.
- Forge. You can watch a smith on the Wednesday walk, and possibly on Osaka JOINER’s day. To forge a blade yourself, go to Kyoto: Kendo Experience’s three-hour blacksmith session has you hammer a knife from a piece of iron, from $151 and rated 4.9 from 1,030 reviews. How a Sakai knife is made explains the difference.
- Workshop. Hands on a real blade: ENA’s Shogun day includes Sakai Tohji, where you fit a handle and have your own knife engraved. Kansai Holiday’s activity is beginner sharpening, finishing or handle work, and Kansai Holiday says plainly that it “is not a professional blacksmithing or full knife-forging course”. Yamaguchi Motors’ second day has you work on a blade under a craftsman’s guidance.
Forbes Japan reported in 2023 that Sakai knives hold about 90% of Japan’s market for professional chefs’ knives; Sakai’s tourism bureau says 98%, and neither says how it was counted.
The private and longer days
ENA’s private access tour rides the Hankai tram (ticket included), stops for matcha and a wagashi sweet at Sakai Risho no Mori, and visits a knife showroom, forge or archive chosen by the day, with a seminar on single-bevel blades and steel and optional shopping help. Knives are not included, photography is restricted at some stops, and it is not suited to limited mobility. ENA’s Shogun’s Story adds a kaiseki lunch at Ume-no-Hana, a tea ceremony and Xavier Park; the knife part is for 18 and over, or with an adult.
Osaka JOINER pairs the knife stop with the Old Yamaguchi Residence of 1615, incense made from upcycled matcha in the shape of kofun tombs and haniwa figures, and tea with a tea master; bring an IC card for the tram, and cash. HopGo is a 4 km walk from Sakaihigashi’s West Exit through the Shimano Bicycle Museum, lunch on your own, the Denshokan, Aguchi Shrine, Risho no Mori and Sen no Rikyu’s birthplace.
Kansai Holiday collects you from an Osaka hotel for Sumiyoshi Taisha, Otori Taisha, the knife activity, the crafts museum and Shinsekai, with a driver-guide rather than a licensed guide. Yamaguchi Motors drives from Tokyo hotels and back over three days, adding the Daisen Kofun moat path and Sakai City Museum; hotels are extra.
Who each suits
Knife Maker or Blacksmith Walk
A sharpening shop or a forge, plus the crafts museum.
Check dates →Sakai Knives Private Access Tour
Tram, matcha, a showroom or forge, and help choosing a knife.
See this tour →Handle-Making and Name Engraving
Fit the handle on a real Sakai knife and watch your name engraved.
See this workshop →Prices, ratings and review counts as of October 2026; operators change prices, so treat them as the shape of the market, not a quote.
Before you book
Every tour here has free cancellation up to 24 hours before. If the crafts museum is the main draw, read the Sakai knife museum guide first; trains and stations are in how to get to Sakai from Osaka.

Book the Sakai Knife Maker or Blacksmith Walk
3.5 hours from Nankai Sakai Station with a bilingual guide, up to 10 people: an old sweet shop, the crafts museum, then Yamawaki Hamono's sharpening shop and a sharpening lesson on Tuesdays and Thursdays, or a blacksmith's forge on Wednesdays. Rated 4.8 from 97 reviews, from $45 as of October 2026.
Check Dates for the Knife Walk